

CITY OF MOUNT VERNON

Housing Commission Meeting Minutes March 13, 2019 – City Hall

The Mount Vernon Housing Commission met on March 13, 2019 at 5:30pm with the following members present: Chris Carlson, Trude Elliott, Meridith Hoffman, Loren Hartelt, Kevin Driscoll, Denise Brannaman, Justin Dix, and Scott Peterson. Also in attendance was City Planner, Heather Flynn.

- 1. Approval of the Agenda and Approval of Minutes: Minutes from the January 2019 stand approved unless otherwise indicated by Commission members.
- 2. The commission received an update from Heather regarding the subdivision ordinance and upcoming grants.
- 3. The application for grant funding through the Housing Fund for Linn County is due March 27th. The housing commission is requesting \$20,000 from HFfLC. The group discussed requesting a match from the city of approximately 10% of the awarded amount. The group agreed to the requested amount of 10% to be used for program administration funds by ECICOG. Justin recommended for the program to be administered by ECICOG and Kevin seconded the motion. Heather will bring the request before city council at the following council meeting.
- 4. Parameters for the Minor Rehabilitation Program were discussed with the intention of evaluating the program annually. Meridith explained that the median home price in Mount Vernon is \$226k making an 80% Area Median Income (AMI) house approximately \$180k. The group decided to set \$180k accessor value as the maximum home value for the applicant. The applicant must reside in Mount Vernon and hold title to the property or mobile home to be assisted. The applicant's household income must be at or below 80% of AMI for Linn County. The loans will be awarded on a first come first serve basis. The applicant is not eligible for reapplication until the loan is forgiven and the project completed. The grant was decided to be \$0-\$3000 with 25% matching required. Heather will continue work on the program with the intention of submitting before the March 27th and asking for feedback from Tracey Achenbach.
- 5. Term commitments from 2019 were discussed. Scott Peterson will be stepping down and Denise Herrmann will be acting as a liaison from city council. Current members are Trude Elliott, Chris Carlson, Kevin Driscoll, Loren Hartelt, Denise Brannaman, Justin Dix and Meridith Hoffmann. The commission will hold elections at a later date.

Meeting adjourned at 7:30pm, March 13, 2019.